Rohr releases Uzoho & three other Super Eagles stars for U-23 duties

Rohr releases Uzoho & three other Super Eagles stars for U-23 duties

Nigerian head coach Gernot Rohr has dropped Francis Uzoho and three other Super Eagles players to Olympic National Team as they bid to qualify for the U23 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

The Dream Team VII have a mountain to climb in their quest to overturn a two-goal deficit against Libya and may not finds things easy, with first-choice goalkeeper Abubakar Adamu sent off just before half-time for handling the ball outside the area in the first leg on March 20.

Uzoho will be coming into the Olympic squad after an error that led to the only goal scored by Seychelles in the Super Eagles 3-1 win a few hours ago in their final AFCON 2019 Qualifiers game and Rohr believes it will afford the goalkeeper the opportunity to get some minutes after his well-documented problems with his Cypriot club Anorthosis Famagusta.

Rohr said post-match after the 3-1 win vs Seychelles: ”They will have again three players from my 23-man list to go for the victory. We want to go to the Olympics and I will help my colleague Imama. He will have some players from my team.

”Like you know the goalkeeper is not playing so much in his club, they have administrative problems. We want to see him again to make him play again, he did well in the World Cup.

”He made a mistake, these kind of games are very difficult for a goalkeeper because there is no work to do and when the ball is coming, he has to stay and it can happen. Everybody makes a mistake and we have to apologize.”

The German added: ”He played again and we’ll see what happens on Monday or Tuesday. U23 team had a red card for the goalkeeper and he could be able to play again because he is 20.

”Everybody can make a mistake, even you the journalist can make a mistake, so let’s understand it can happen. We won the game, it is not an important mistake.

”This Seychelles team also deserve to score a goal for their good defensive organization”.

Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray), Chidozie Awaziem (Porto), Valentine Ozornwafor, Ikouwem Udo (both Enyimba), Victor Osimhen (Charleroi) and Ndifreke Effiong (Akwa United) are the other players eligible to represent the Dream Team.

Click here to subscribe to The Paradigm Newsletter



Share your thoughts

%d bloggers like this: