Modric Breaks Messi-Ronaldo Duopoly By Winning Ballon d’Or

Modric Breaks Messi-Ronaldo Duopoly By Winning Ballon d’Or

Luka Modric has won the 2018 Ballon d’Or ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo and Antoine Griezman, with Lionel Messi coming fifth.

It is the first time in 10 years neither Ronaldo nor Messi has been recognised as the world’s best player for France Football’s acclaimed award.

Modric also received the best men’s player prize at the FIFA Best awards in September.


01๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง Owen

02๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท Ronaldo

03๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ Nedved

04๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ฆ Chevtchenko

05๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท Ronaldinho

06๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡น Cannavaro

07๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ท Kaka

08๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น Ronaldo

09๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ท Messi

10๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ท Messi

11๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ท Messi

12๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ท Messi

13๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น Ronaldo

14๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น Ronaldo

15๐Ÿ‡ฆ๐Ÿ‡ท Messi

16๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น Ronaldo

17๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡น Ronaldo

18๐Ÿ‡ญ๐Ÿ‡ท Modric

โ€” #ballondor (@francefootball) December 3, 2018

Harry Kane, the only English player on the 30-man shortlist, ranked 10th in the poll after winning the World Cup Golden Boot in Russia as he captained England to their best finish in 28 years.

In 2018, Modric won his third consecutive Champions League trophy with club side Real Madrid and led Croatia to their first World Cup final, losing 4-2 to France.

Premier League trio Mohamed Salah (6), Eden Hazard (8) and Kevin De Bruyne (9) were also in the top 10.

Meanwhile, Paris Saint-Germain forward Neymar, the world’s most expensive player, dropped to 12th having been voted third best in last year’s poll.

World Cup winners N’Golo Kante (11) and Paul Pogba (15) finished in the top 20 after being recognised for their performances in Russia.

Click here to subscribe to The Paradigm Newsletter



Share your thoughts

%d bloggers like this: