Nigeria announce final World Cup list

Nigeria announce final World Cup list

Nigeria on Sunday announced its final 23 -man squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup , Goal . com reports

The 23 – man squad that will travel to Russia with Alex Iwobi and Chidozie Awaziem making the cut

18 debutants join John Obi Mikel, Ahmed Musa, Ogenyi Onazi , Kenneth Omeruo and Victor Moses in the list that was released after the Super Eagles bowed 2- 1 to England at Wembley Stadium .

Elderson Echiejile will be making his first World Cup appearance after losing his place to Ejike Uzoenyi in Brazil 2014 due to injury .

Rohr takes just two specialist centre -forwards to Russia – Changchun Yatai ’s Odion Ighalo and Crotone ’s Simeon Nwankwo .

The attacking line- up is completed by Chelsea ’s Victor Moses , Arsenal ’s Alex Iwobi, Leicester City’s Kelechi Iheanacho and Ahmed Musa.

Captain Mikel prepares for his second World Cup and will anchor the midfield with support from Ogenyi Onazi , recuperating Wilfred Ndidi , John Ogu, Oghenekaro Etebo and Joel Obi .

The German tactician has opted to go with William Troost- Ekong , Leon Balogun, Kenneth Omeruo , Bryan Idowu , Chidozie Awaziem , Abdullahi Shehu , Elderson Echiejile and Tyronne Ebuehi for his defensive options .

However , Ola Aina and Mikel Agu did not make the squad.

Click here to subscribe to The Paradigm Newsletter



Share your thoughts

%d bloggers like this: