Breaking: APC Zones National Offices Ahead Of National Convention

Breaking: APC Zones National Offices Ahead Of National Convention

Reports have revealed that the All Progressives Congress APC, has zoned positions to be contested for at the national convention of the party slated for 13th and 14th June in Abuja.

The zoning formula was the outcome of a marathon meeting held by the national caucus of the party on Tuesday night which dragged into the wee hour of Wednesday.

The national caucus meeting had in attendance former head of state, General Muhammad Buhari; Senator Bola Tinubu; interim national chairman of the party, Chief Bisi Akande; Alhaji Kawu Baraje; Senator Ali Modu Sherrif, former vice president, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar; Aminu Bello Masari, Mallam Nasir el-Rufai, Senator Bukola Saraki, Senator Danjuma Goje and Senator.Abdullahi Adamu.

Others were Governors Rabiu Kwankwaso (Kano); Rochas Okorocha (Imo); Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers); Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun); Adams Oshiomhole (Edo); Babatunde Fashola (Lagos); Umar Tanko Al-Makura (Nasarawa); Abdulfatah Ahmed (Kwara); Murtala Nyako (Adamawa) and the deputy governor of Borno State

There has been politicking and horse trading in the party ahead of the convention, which is solely to elect the party executive members for the first time since the emergence of coalition of opposition parties fusing to become APC.

The zoning formula agreed upon by the national caucus are as follows:

The Southsouth zone – National chairman, Deputy National Secretary and the Deputy National Legal Adviser.

The Southwest – Deputy National Chairman, National Legal Adviser and the National Financial Secretary.

The Southeast – National Organising Secretary, the National Auditor, Deputy Finance Secretary and Deputy Women Leader.

The  North Central – National Publicity Secretary, the National Women Leader, the Deputy Treasurer  and the Deputy Welfare Secretary.

The North East – The National Secretary, the National Youth Leader and the Deputy National Auditor.

The North West – Welfare Secretary, Deputy National Chairman, National Treasurer and Deputy National Organising secretary.

Each of the six geopolitical zones will produce one zonal national vice chairman, one zonal women leader, one zonal youth leader and one ex-officio.

Click here to subscribe to The Paradigm Newsletter



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *